Legend of the Ancient Sword

Gu Jian Qi Tan (Legend of the Ancient Sword) 2014

Gu Jian Qi Tan (Legend of the Ancient Sword) 2014

I just finished this 50 episode series yesterday.  Based off of the RPG Video game  developed by Shanghai Aurogon it tells the story about a young and quiet swordsman name Baili Tusu (Li Yi Feng) is infected by the aura of an ancient demonic sword known as the Sword of Burning Solitude. Living with the dark energy, he grew up without family. Until one day, he meets a friendly girl Feng Qingxue (Yang Mi) along with a group of heroes, and together they wander the land to seek out destiny and bring balance to the world.

Source: dramanice.com

I first heard about Legend of the Ancient Sword, also referred to as Ancient Sword and Ancient Sword Legend from the amazing website Wuxia Edge, a fantastic website that you can find a lot of information about wuxia based TV shows.  The series is set in the Tang Dynasty but is ultimately it’s own world based off of the video game.  The costumes are stunning! The fight scenes are really good the CGI is alright but the storytelling is more important to me anyways.

I must admit I wasn’t 100% sure about this series.  I’m not exactly young anymore and I don’t think there were many actors over the age of 25-30 in the entire series.  If they were then they certainly didn’t appear like it! However the story soon drew me in over time and despite some of the low budget CGI the very high budget costumes and sets definitely made it enjoyable to watch.

Zheng Shuang as the little fox demon Xiang Ling

Zheng Shuang as the little fox demon Xiang Ling

The cast worked well together and it was easy to loose myself in their multitude of adventures as they tried to remove the demon aura from the main character Bali Tusu.  I’m not much of a writer so I’m not going to try to force myself to fill up a page of text that would just make your head hurt so below is a list of links you can use to find out more about Legend of the Ancient Sword!

Wuxia Edge:  I know I already mentioned it, but it needs to be mentioned again!

Watch Wuxia Online: Here you can start your own journey with Bali Tusu,

Cfensi: Another WordPress site who

MyDramaList: Allows you to see who the actors were involved in the show

jaynestars.com: Some good pictures and a basic synopsis.

The music for the show was quite nice as well.

jial10

4 thoughts on “Legend of the Ancient Sword

  1. Pingback: The Dragon Chronicles – The Maidens (1994) | wuxiacinema

  2. Pingback: The Legend of Zu tv series (2015) Ep 1 | wuxiacinema

  3. Pingback: Full Moon Scimitar (1979) | wuxiacinema

  4. Pingback: Legend of Zu (tv series 2015) Ep 46-56 | wuxiacinema

Leave a comment