The Water Margin (1998 tv series)

Also called Outlaws of the Marsh, was produced by CCTV 8 with Zhang Jizhong as the producer.  Zhang Jizhong produced my favourite version of the Condor Heroes Trilogy

This 43 episode series is based off of “The Water Margin” by Shi Nai’an, one of the four great classical novels of Chinese literature. The other three being Romance of the Three Kingdoms, Journey to the West, & Dream of the Red Chamber. 

The Wikipedia entry states that Yuen Woo-ping provided the action choreography but I can only find that on Wikipedia entries so far.  I would check out the wiki entry as it has a very detailed list of the cast and the characters they played.

At 43 episodes it certainly is detailed and I’ve not personally finished it yet.  I have a Region 0 Collectors Edition with English, Japanese, and three Chinese subtitles.  The Subtitling is much better than what I got with my Three Kingdoms DVD set.

Do to lack of time and way too many TV series that I’m watching I will not be writing an entry for every episode.  However I did recognise one of the names in the cast list Chen Zhihui who played Yang Xiong / Wang Jin. He has been in some of the best films (Wing Chun, Three Kingdoms: Resurrection of the Dragon, Fearless, An Empress and the Warriors, Ip Man, 14 Blades, The Legend Is Born – Ip Man, The Heaven Sword and Dragon Saber). Many of the others I recognise the movies and TV series they have been in but I did not recognise the name.  I look forward to watching the rest of this series and learning more about the actors who played in this classic.

Hopefully I will be able to watch All Men are Brothers made in 2011.  At a staggering 86 episodes it would take me a year or two to finish that one!

Other TV adaptions of Water Margin

  • The Water Margin (1973) 26 episodes
  • Outlaws of the Marsh (1983) 40 episodes
  •  The Water Margin (1998) 43 episodes
  • All Men are Brothers (2011) 86 episodes

Films based on Water Margin

One thought on “The Water Margin (1998 tv series)

  1. Pingback: All Men Are Brothers (1975) | wuxiacinema

Leave a Reply

